Interview with Tom Brake (Chief Whip of the Liberal Democrats)

Here’s my interview with the current Chief Whip and Foreign Affairs spokesman of the Liberal Democrats, Tom Brake:

  • How important is it that young people take an interest in politics?

“Very. Politics and politicians decide so many critical things; whether we go to war or how much is spent on hospitals.”

  • What do the Lib Dems need to do to be more successful in the future?

“Re-establish our liberal identity. Speak up for social justice.  Challenge the establishment parties.”

  • Following the recent devastating death of Charles Kennedy, was he someone who was respected right across the political spectrum and did he have an influence on yourself?

“Yes, his brand of easy-going almost apolitical politics is something I would like to try and emulate.”

  • Who did you think was the right candidate for the Liberal Democrats leadership?

“Supported Norman Lamb but confident Tim Farron is up to the job.”

  • Do you have any funny stories from your time in politics?

“Yes, the time I was ‘recognised’ at my local train station soon after I started campaigning to get elected as the MP for Carshalton and Wallington. As I was walking through the station, a young person said to me, ‘Are you …’ I was really chuffed because I thought I had been recognised as the candidate, but the sentence finished, ‘Are you, Jonathan from Brookside?’  Brookside was the big TV soap of the day.”

Tom Brake

Leave a Reply

